North Central Workforce Development Board Board Meeting Minutes September 24, 2019 Via Web Video Conference Moses Lake, Wenatchee & Omak

Ken Johnson, chair, called the meeting to order at 5:49 pm.

Director's report:

Dave introduced board members and staff present at all three locations, and made mention of newly appointed board members Crystal Gage, Annette Herup, Erik Swanson, and Pablo Villareal. Dave recapped the Roger Thieme Career Center sign unveiling in Othello this summer.

June 18, 2019 Board Meeting Minutes:

Terry Leas moved and Jim Richardson seconded to approve the minutes from the June 18th meeting. The motion carried.

Committee Reports:

Okanogan: Roni Holder-Diefenbach reported that the committee received a presentation on Pre-Employment Transition Services, discussed year-end performance, and welcomed new board members.

John Butler moved, and Craig Carroll seconded, to approve the committee report. Motion carried.

Grant/Adams:

Ken Johnson reported that the committee met two Career Connect Washington alumni, one of whom has been hired based on an internship and another who is a current youth apprentice at SGL. The committee discussed the rental of available space at the WorkSource Central Basin building. The committee reviewed the year-end performance report and endorsed the Pathway Development subcontract to Big Bend Community College.

Tad Hildebrant moved and Pablo Villareal seconded to approve the Big Bend Community College Manufacturing Pathway subcontract for \$170,000. Terry Leas recused. Motion carried.

Chelan/Douglas:

Jim Wood reported that the committee received a presentation from Pre-Employment Transition Services students and staff, reviewed year-end performance, and considered two endorsements concerning issuance of credit cards to management staff, and the other concerning subcontracts for Career Connect Washington.

Jim Richardson moved and Karl Ruether seconded to approve opening credit card accounts for management staff. Motion carried.

Karl Ruether moved and Jim Richardson seconded to approve Career Connect Washington subcontracts with NCESD for \$130,000 and Wenatchee School District for \$20,000. Motion carried.

Youth Procurement Manager Selection Committee

Federal policy requires Local Boards competitively select youth service providers. In order for SkillSource to compete to deliver such services in Chelan/Douglas and Grant Adams Counties

(since the non-profit agency is a Board governed entity), the manager of the RFP process must be an independent contractor selected by the Board. This procedure avoids conflict of interest. Three years ago the cost for an independent RFP manager was \$7,000.

Jim Richardson moved and Jim Wood seconded to approve the implementation of a free and open RFP process and the appointment of an RFP manager. The motion carried.

Jim Wood, Pablo Villareal, and Karl Ruether volunteered to serve on the selection committee.

2018-19 State Monitoring

Dave called the board's attention to the state monitoring report summary included in the board packet and briefly summarized the process. The board commended the staff for their work and the results of the monitoring report, in which there were no findings and several noted practices.

Announcements

Dave pointed out that the board retreat has been moved from November to March in order to facilitate the long-range planning process. Lisa mentioned the NAWB conference March 21-24 and invited board members to consider attending.

Meeting adjourned at 6:17 pm.

Present:

John Butler (OK) Craig Carroll for Alberto Isiordia (OK) Tad Hildebrand (ML) Ken Johnson (ML) Terry Leas (ML) Jim Richardson (WEN) Roni Holder-Diefenbach (OK) Jim Richardson (WEN) Lavonne Roy (OK) Karl Ruether (WEN) Pablo Villareal (ML) Jim Wood (WEN) Bob Bugert (Chelan) (WEN) Not Present Alberto Isiordia Heidi Myers Teresa Stokes Decorah Anderson Crystal Gage Irasema Ortiz-Elizalde Dimitri Mandelis Brant Mayo Stephen McFadden Michelle Price Danny Robbins Erik Swanson Peggy Vines Staff Present:

Dave Petersen (ML) Lisa Romine (WEN) Laura Leavitt (WEN) Aaron Parrott (WEN) Emily Anderson (ML) Yolanda Rios (ML) Mary Hinger (OK)